اليمن

وفقاً لمنظمة أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان، لقد تم إغلاق حوالي 50٪ من المرافق الصحية في اليمن بحلول نهاية عام 2017 بسبب الهجمات العشوائية، فضلاً عن نقص الإمدادات الطبية والموظفين الطبيين. و وقع ما لا يقل عن 23 هجوماً على المرافق الصحية و 76 حالة تم فيها رفض وصول المساعدات الإنسانية. كانت الغارات الجوية هي النوع الرئيسي للهجمات على المرافق الطبية. وفي ديسمبر/كانون الأول، اجتاح المقاتلون المستشفى نفسها وهددوا بقتل المرضى والعاملين. كما نهب أطراف النزاع أكثر من 900 وحدة من الإمدادات الإنسانية والطبية.

ابتداءً من تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2017، فرض التحالف الذي تقوده السعودية حصارًا على الموانئ في اليمن. وقد حد الحصار من وصول السلع والمساعدات الإنسانية والوقود الذي يُستخدم في تشغيل مولدات الطاقة في المستشفيات وضخ المياه. و في العديد من الحالات، امّا تأخرت الشحنات أو تم تحويلها. كما قام المتمردون الحوثيون بمصادرة المواد الغذائية والإمدادات الطبية، وتدخلوا في إيصال مساعدات عمال الإغاثة. و بحلول نهاية عام 2017، قُدّر أن ثلث الإمدادات الطبية اللازمة فقط يسمح لها بدخول البلاد.

ويقال إن حوالي 16 مليون شخص لا يحصلون على الرعاية الصحية الكافية. وعلاوة على ذلك، لا يحصل حوالي 17 مليون شخص على الغذاء المناسب، مما يضع 8 ملايين شخص على حافة المجاعة. كما أن عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أمراض يمكن الوقاية منها مثل الكوليرا والدفتيريا يستمر بالارتفاع. و بحلول نهاية عام 2017، تشير التقديرات إلى أن ما يقارب المليون شخص قد أصيبوا بالكوليرا. وفقاً لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، كان هنالك أكثر من 2000 حالة وفاة بسبب الكوليرا في عام 2017.

وفقًا لمنظمة إنقاذ الطفولة، يمكن يكون قرابة ال 50،000 طفل قد لقيوا حتفهم في عام 2017 بسبب المجاعة أو أمراض يمكن الوقاية منها بسبب انهيار نظام الرعاية الصحية في البلاد. و في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2017 ، بقيت الإمدادات الطبية واللقاحات اللازمة لعلاج الكوليرا في جيبوتي ولم يُسمح لها بدخول البلاد بسبب الحصار المفروض عليها.

Yemen

According to Physicians for Human Rights, by the end of 2017, around 50% of Yemen’s health facilities were closed due to indiscriminate attacks, as well as lack of medical supplies and medical staff.  There have been at least 23 attacks on health facilities and 76 cases where humanitarian access was denied. Airstrikes are the main common type of attacks on medical facilities. In December, fighters invaded the same hospital and threatened to kill patients and workers. Parties to the conflict plundered more than 900 units of humanitarian or medical supplies.

Starting November 2017, the Saudi-led coalition imposed a blockade on ports in Yemen. The blockade limited the access of goods, humanitarian aid, and fuel, which is used to power generators in hospitals and pump water. In many cases shipments were either delayed or diverted. Houthi rebels have also confiscated food and medical supplies, and interfered with aid workers’ aid delivery. By the end of 2017, it is estimated that only about the third of the medical supplies needed are allowed to enter the country.

Around 16 million people reportedly  lack access to adequate healthcare. Moreover, around 17 million people do not have proper access to food, rendering 8 million people on the verge of starvation. The number of people suffering from preventable diseases such as cholera and diphtheria is constantly on the rise. By the end of 2017, it is estimated that nearly one million people have been infected with cholera. According to the World Health Organization, there have been over 2,000 cases of death due to cholera in 2017.

According to Save the Children, up to 50,000 children might have died in 2017 of famine or preventable diseases due to the collapse of the country’s health care system. In November 2017, medical supplies and vaccines needed to treat cholera remained in Djibouti and were not allowed to enter the country due to the imposed blockade.