المدافعون عن الحياد الطبي والاجراءات الخاصة

الاجراءات الخاصة للأمم المتحدة، هي عبارة عن جماعة من خبراء حقوق الإنسان في جنيف بسويسرا، تعمل تحت امرة مجلس حقوق الإنسان في الأمم المتحدة. بقرار رقم 31/2002، أوجدت لجنة حقوق الإنسان المقرر الخاص المعني بحق كل إنسان في التمتع بأعلى مستوى ممكن من الصحة البدنية والعقلية. وهو منصبٌ يشار إليه أكثر باسم “مفوضية الصحة” (SR-Health)، وتتولى مهام التوثيق وإعداد التقارير والمناقشة وتقديم التوصيات المتعلقة بالحق في الصحة.

مثل بقية الإجراءات الخاصة، يمكن لمفوضية صحة  تلقي شكاوى فردية من الأشخاص الذين يشكتون عن انتهاك حقهم في الصحة. عند تلقي الشكوى، تقوم مفوضية الصحة بتقديم الشكوى إلى الحكومة المشتكى عليها طلبا عن تفسير حول الشكوى. وستعمل مفوضية الصحة بعد ذلك على مدى أشهر قليلة لاحقة كوسيط بين المصدر والحكومة. في نهاية هذه العملية، تقوم مفوضية الصحية بنشر رأيها حول الشكاوى، وذلك في تقرير تواصل مشترك.

البرنامج والإجراء

يستخدم المدافعون عن الحياد الطبي برنامج الشكاوى الخاص بها لتوصيل الضحايا المتضررين وأسرهم في بلدانهم بمفوضية الصحة في جنيف. نحن نحصل على المعلومات من مصادرها، ونقوم بتطوير ومعالجتها ونخرجها على هيئة شكوى رسمية، ومن ثم تقديمها إلى مفوضية الصحة. ثم نبقى نراقب حالة الشكوى من خلال المتابعة مع مفوضية الصحة مع تزويدها بمعلومات إضافية عند الطلب.

معالجة الشكوى لدى المدافعين عن الحياد الطبي تتم على مرحلتين. أولا، نعمل مع الضحية لشرح عملية الانخراط مع مفوضية الصحة. وهذه خطوة أولى مهمة، إذ لا يمكن للمدفعين عن الحياد الطبي تقديم شكوى دون الحصول أولا على الموافقة المسبقة من الضحية أو ممن ينوب عنها رسميا. فإذا وافقت الضحية يمكننا أن نبدأ بعد ذلك من العمل على استقاء المعلومات اللازمة للشكوى. بشكل عام، يتضمن ذلك الطلب من مقدم الشكوى بإعطاء وصف سردي للانتهاك. ولدى المدافعين عن الحياد الطبي استمارة باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية للمساعدة في الحصول على المعلومات اللازمة. ويمكن لعملية جمع المعلومات أن تستغرق وقتا قصيرا كبضع ساعات أو يمتد لشهر كامل.

هناك طريقتان لتقديم الشكوى إلى مفوضية الصحة؛ “استنادا الى حادث” و “استنادا إلى شكوى”. الشكاوى المستندة إلى الحادث يتم تقديمها نيابة عن عشرة أو أكثر من الضحايا في الوقت الذي كانوا مضطهدين خلاله في نفس الحادث، في حين أن الشكاوى المستندة على الشكوى هي من ضحية واحدة فقط. على سبيل المثال، إذا اقدمت حكومة البحرين على اعتقال 12 من المتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية بسبب تقديمهم العلاج للمتظاهرين الجرحى، سيقوم المدافعون عن الحياد الطبي بتحديد جميع الـ 12 شخصا والحصول على المعلومات الخاصة عنهم وأخذ الموافقة المسبقة من أسرهم قبل تقديم شكوى “استنادا إلى حادث”.

بعد معالجة المعلومات، يقوم المدافعون عن الحياد الطبي بإعداد وثيقة مشابهة بإلاعلان القانوني توفر الحقائق ذات الصلة في شكل سردي. والهدف هو توفير المعلومات بصورة مقتضبة وقابلة بسهولة للاستخدام، ذلك لأن تقديم المعلومات بطريقة مطولة ومعقدة يحد من عدد الشكاوى التي يمكن لمفوضية الصحة العمل عليها. بعد صياغة الشكوى، يتم إرسالها عبر البريد الالكتروني إلى مفوضية الصحة، التي تقرر بدورها تقديمها أو عدم تقديمها إلى الحكومة المعنية.

عندما تقوم مفوضية الصحة بتقديم الشكوى إلى الحكومة المعنية، يمكن للعملية أن تتخذ أحد المنحيين؛ إذا قررت الحكومة الرد (وليس كل الحكومات ترد)، تقوم مفوضية الصحة بإرسال الرد إلى المدافعين عن الحياد الطبي وتطلب منهم ردا. وسوف تتكرر هذه العملية حتى تتوقف الحكومة عن الرد أو تقتنع مفوضية الصحة بعدم إمكانية الحصول على معلومات جديدة، وهنا ستتقوم مفوضية الصحة بإصدار رأيها. أما إذا قررت الحكومة عدم الرد، فستصدر مفوضية الصحة رأيها بشكل أسرع. وقد تستغرق العملية برمتها ما بين ستة أشهر إلى سنة قبل أن تصدر مفوضية الصحة رأيا، ومعدّل هذه الفترة 9 إلى 10 أشهر.

ماذا يمكنك القيام به

هل أنت أو أحد معارفك ضحية انتهاك في الحياد الطبي؟ إذا كان الأمر كذلك، يمكنك ملء الاستمارة الموجودة هنا وسوف نقوم بمعالجة شكواك وإيصالها إلى مفوضية الصحة التابعة للأمم المتحدة. كما يمكنكم أيضا الاتصال بنا إذا كنتم تودون التعرف على الاجراءات بشكل افضل قبل اتخاذ قرار التقديم أو عدمه. نحن هنا دائما مستعدون للمساعدة بأي طريقة ممكنة.

DMI and the Special Procedures

The Special Procedures of the United Nations are a group of human rights experts based out of Geneva, Switzerland that report to the United Nations Human Rights Council. Through resolution 2002/31, the Commission on Human Rights established the Special Rapporteur on the right of everyone to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of physical and mental health. More commonly referred to as the SR-Health, this office is tasked with documenting, reporting, discussing, and providing recommendations pertaining to the right to health.

Like all Special Procedures, the SR-Health can receive individual complaints from persons who allege that their right to health has been violated. Upon receiving a complaint, the SR-Health submits the complaint to the offending government, seeking explanation regarding the allegations. Over the next several months, the SR-Health act as an intermediary between the source and the government. At the end of the process, the SR-Health posts an opinion of the allegations in a joint communications report.

The Program and Process

DMI uses its complaint program to connect aggrieved victims and their families in their home countries with the SR-Health in Geneva. We solicit information from the ground, develop and process that information into a formal complaint, and then submit the complaint to the SR-Health. We also monitor the status of our complaints by engaging with the SR-Health and by providing additional information upon request.

DMI’s complaint process is two-fold. First, we work with the victim to explain the process of engaging with the SR-Health. This is an important first step, as DMI never submits a complaint without first obtaining the informed consent of the victim or his duly authorized representative. If the victim consents, we can begin soliciting the information necessary for the complaint. Generally, this involves asking the complainant to provide a narrative description of the abuse. DMI has generated a form in both English and Arabic to help identify the necessary information. The information-gathering process can take as little as a few hours or as long as a month.

There are two ways to submit a complaint to the SR-Health; “incident-based” and “complainant-based.” Incident-based complaints are submitted on behalf of ten or more victims at a time that were persecuted during the same action, while complainant-based complaints have only one victim. For example, if the Government of Bahrain arrests twelve healthcare professionals for providing treatment to injured protestors, DMI will attempt to identify all twelve persons and obtain their information and the informed consent of their families before submitting an incident-based complaint.

After processing the information, DMI prepares a document similar to a legal declaration that provides the pertinent facts in narrative form. The goal is to provide the information in a succinct and easily usable form, as presenting the information in a lengthy and complex manner limits the number of complaints the SR-Health can act upon. After the complaint is penned, it is emailed to the SR-Health, who decides whether or not to submit it to the government in question.

If the SR-Health submits the complaint to the government in question, the process can go one of two ways. If the government chooses to respond (and not all governments do), the SR-Health will pass the response to DMI and ask for a reply. This process repeats itself until either the government stops responding or the SR-Health is satisfied that no new information will be obtained, at which point the SR-Health issues an opinion. If the government chooses not to respond, the SR-Health issues an opinion more quickly. The whole process can take anywhere from six months to a year before the SR-Health publishes an opinion, with a mean time of 9-10 months.

What You Can Do

Are you or someone you know a victim of a medical impartiality violation? If so, you can fill out the form linked here and we will process your complaint and bring it before the SR-Health of the United Nations. You can also contact us if you want to better understand the process before deciding whether or not to submit. We are always available to help in any way we can.