البحرين

في شباط/ فبراير 2018، أصدر الملك مرسومًا يقضي بتمركز عمليات الإسعاف العامة في البحرين تحت إشراف وزارة الداخلية. علاوة على ذلك، تطلب السلطات عادة من المستشفيات الخاصة الإبلاغ عن مرضى الذين يبدو أنهم أُصيبوا خلال احتجاج ما. وكثيراً ما يكون أفراد الأمن موجودين في المستشفيات ويُمكن أن يقوموا بتأخير العلاج بسبب الاستجواب.

في عام 2016، اتهمت السلطات البحرينية الدكتور طه الدرازي، وهو عالم أعصاب بارز، “بالتجمّع غير قانوني” بسبب مشاركته في المظاهرات السلمية في قرية الدراز. حاصرت الشرطة المنطقة بعد أن أطلق مئات الأشخاص اعتصاماً حول منزل الشيخ عيسى قاسم، الزعيم الديني الشيعي البارز في البلاد، احتجاجاً على قرار الحكومة بإلغاء جنسية رجل الدين بشكل تعسفي. وأُدين الدكتور الدرازي في النهاية وحُكم عليه بالسجن ثلاثة أشهر عند الاستئناف.

يتدخل ضباط السجون بشكل روتيني بوصول المعتقلين إلى العلاج. تُوفّي محمد سهوان “بسكتة قلبية مفاجئة” بينما كان يقضي 15 عاماً في سجن “جو” عام 2017. حُكم على محمد في أيار/ مايو 2012 بموجب قانون مكافحة الإرهاب بعد إطلاق النار عليه في الظهر والساقين والرأس من قبل الشرطة المُسلحة بالبنادق. ولم يتمكن من تلقّي العلاج الكامل لهذه الإصابات ومُنع من تلقّي الرعاية الطبية، على الرغم من الطلبات المتعددة.

ومن بين سجناء الرأي الآخرين، حسن مشيمع هو أحد الناجين من سرطان الغدد الليمفاوية الذي مُنع من تلقي فحوصات منتظمة للكشف عن السرطان، حسين عبدالوهاب حسين علي إسماعيل الذي يعاني من فقر الدم المنجلي واعتلال الغدد الصماء (اضطراب في الجهاز العصبي المحيطي)، والذي لم يتم توفير وصوله إلى الطبيب المناسب، والدكتور عبد الجليل السنكيس، أحد الناجين من شلل الأطفال و الذي يعاني أيضاً من فقر الدم المنجلي و هو يعتمد على كرسي متحرك أو عكازين، والذي كان قد مُنع بانتظام من الحصول على الرعاية الطبية، بما في ذلك المعدات لعكازاته.

في عام 2011، تم القبض على أكثر من 60 طبيباً وتعرضوا للتعذيب، وقامت السلطات بفصل 200 مسعف من وظائفهم بعد أن حاصرت قوات الأمن واستولت على مجمع السلمانية الطبي. و في 6 حزيران/ يونيو 2011، اتهمت محكمة أمنية خلال جلسة مغلقة 47 عاملاً في المجال الصحي، معظمهم يعملون في مجمع السلمانية الطبي. وقد قضى بعضهم أحكامهم كاملة، وخُفضت الأحكام الصادرة بحق بعضهم، وتم تبرئة البعض الآخرين في نهاية المطاف. كما تم اعتقال علي العكري، وهو جراح عظام للأطفال، في 17 آذار/ مارس 2011 أثناء علاج صبي في سن المراهقة في مجمع السلمانية الطبي. وقد قضى العكري عقوبته بالسجن لمدة خمس سنوات وتم الإفراج عنه في 10 آذار/ مارس 2017. وحتى الآن، لا زال هناك 10 موظفين طبيين على الأقل مفصولين من مناصبهم السابقة في مجمع السلمانية الطبي، بعد أن أُجبر بعضهم على التقاعد المبكر.

Bahrain

In February 2018, the king issued a decree that centralizes Bahrain’s public ambulance operations under the Ministry of Interior. Furthermore, authorities typically require private hospitals to report patients that appear to have been injured in a protest. Security personnel are also often present in hospital facilities and can delay treatment with interrogations.

In 2016, Bahraini authorities charged Dr. Taha Al-Derazi, a prominent neuroscientist, with “illegal gathering” for reportedly participating in the peaceful demonstrations in the village of Duraz. The police blockaded the area after hundreds of people launched a sit-in around the home of Sheikh Isa Qasim, the country’s preeminent Shia religious leader, to protest the government’s decision to arbitrarily revoke the cleric’s nationality. Dr. al-Derazi was ultimately convicted and sentenced to three months in prison on appeal.

Prison officers routinely interfere with detainees’ access to treatment. Mohammad Sahwan died of “sudden cardiac arrest” while serving a 15 years in Jau Prison in 2017. Mohammad was sentenced in May 2012 under the anti-terrorism law after being shot in the back, legs, and head by police armed with shotguns. He was unable to receive full treatment for these injuries and prevented from receiving medical care, despite multiple requests.

Other prisoners of conscience include Hassan Mushaima, a survivor of lymphoma who has been prevented from receiving regular cancer screenings; Hussain Abdulwahab Hussain Ali Ismail who suffers from sickle-cell anemia and polyradiculoneuropathy (a disorder of the peripheral nervous system) and has not been provided proper access to a doctor; and Dr. Abduljalil al-Singace, a survivor of polio who also has sickle-cell anemia and is confined to a wheelchair or crutches, but has regularly been denied access to medical care, including equipment for his crutches.

In 2011, over 60 medics were arrested and tortured and the authorities dismissed 200 medics from their jobs after security forces surrounded and took over Al-Salmaniya Medical Complex (SMC). On 6 June 2011, a security court charged 47 health professionals, most of whom worked at SMC, during a closed hearing. Some served their full sentences, some had their sentences reduced, and some were eventually acquitted. Ali Al-Ekri, a pediatric orthopedic surgeon, was arrested on 17 March 2011 while treating a teenage boy at SMC. Al-Ekri has served his five years prison sentence and was released on March 10, 2017. To date, at least 10 medical personnel remain dismissed from their previous positions at SMC, some of them having been forced into an early retirement scheme.